Federal law merely mandates that employers pay employees as promptly as possible. State and local laws often require employers to pay wages no less frequently than weekly/bi-weekly/semi-monthly or monthly. And often these requirements differ based on the type of employees. For example, in New York, only manual workers need to be paid weekly but most other workers generally need to be paid no less frequently than semi-monthly.
Florida law does not impose any direct pay frequency requirements on employers. However, the recently enacted Miami-Dade Wage Theft Ordinance requires private sector employers to pay all employees employed in Miami-Dade County within 14 days from the date the employee performed the work, absent a written agreement between the employer and employee extending such time period to 30 days. Damages for violations (i.e., late payment of wages in excess of $60) are three times the back wages owed, and supervisors can be individually liable for violations.
Employers with multi-state locations must constantly stay abreast of state laws.